Truth Tutorials

IMG_20150103_172451138

Blogging 101 and 201–good stuff.  No, great stuff.  Naturally, you get out of it what you put into it.  The important (and encouraging) thing to remember is that there is JUST SO MUCH there, especially for someone like myself who still remembers the Dewey Decimal system.  When I started this blogging adventure, I wasn’t merely on the ground floor. More like the basement.  But I’ve progressed to some extent, am now helping my husband through Blogging 101, and, lo and behold!  I am learning new things the second time around!  (As in, “wait-a-minute-how-did-I-miss-that?!?)

My point: any new skill set is, well…new.  That is, frustrations and setbacks are to be expected, anticipated, even welcomed as the learning process continues.  If I learn nothing else for a particular attempt but patience, that in itself is success. 

Major kudos to WordPress, however, not only for the free courses provided us newbies, but also for the myriad of online instruction in various finer points of all things bloggish, both editorially and technically.  I hit a snag, I read it again, find what I missed, or I can succumb to my ignorance and email “the team” for more down-to-my-level instructions. 

The main thing in any undertaking like this, similar to Edison’s fine quote about inventing the lightbulb, is to not give up.  The answer is there, even if I don’t readily (or easily) see it at first.  To put it more humbly, my lack of current knowledge and experience does not negate the truth of an answer’s existence.

Hmmm….

Kinda like getting to know God:

  1. The fact of my current ignorance does NOT indicate the nonexistence of an adequate answer from my Creator.
  2. A first (or second, or third) attempt at a new spiritual solution or skill set (including difficult passages in the Bible) are not always sufficient to master the challenge. Patience is needed, patience manifested in persistence.
  3. There are plenty of good helps. I am big on commentaries, even from the ancient church fathers.  Pastors, friends, mentors.  The Christian community (or “koinonia”) was always meant to be a vital necessity for God’s people. 
  4. Then there is the “hotline to heaven”, opened to us via the Cross. The Holy Spirit is the Teacher, Counselor, and all those good things that are sorely and sovereignly beyond ourselves.

People who say they cannot understand the Bible are essentially correct in their assertion.  The lamentable problem is that they oftentimes stop there.  God has made Himself available:

You will seek Me and find Me when you search for Me with all your heart.” 

And He’s even better than WordPress!

Jeremiah 29:13 New American Standard Bible (NASB)  New American Standard Bible (NASB) Copyright © 1960, 1962, 1963, 1968, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1975, 1977, 1995 by The Lockman Foundation

Author: dawnlizjones

Tends toward TMI, so here's the short list: guitar and banjo (both of which have been much neglected as of late), bicycling (ibid), dogs, very black tea, and contemplating and commenting on deep philosophical thoughts about which I have had no academic or professional training. Oh, also reading, writing, but I shy away from arithmetic.

5 thoughts on “Truth Tutorials”

          1. That is a wonderful thing Dawn. He does that with us all, each in our own way. What makes it a wonderful thing is you allow Him to work through you with that gift. We all have one, or two, or more. But do we all allow the Holy Spirit to fill us daily so that our gifts can be used for the edification of other believers and the spread of the Gospel to non believers? Sadly, we do not.

            You do however, and many thank you for it. Keep it up!

            Like

Leave a Reply

