Old dog, new tricks

I’m trying to do the morning dog walk thing to give both this aging woman and her aging canine a few more steps during the day.  Yesterday’s excursion was a bit more interesting than usual.  Strolling down one residential street on that quiet Sunday morning, Buckley and I came upon a boy of about ten years obviously having a good time flying his new drone, and doing a good job of it, too! 

Now, when I was a kid (a phrase that clearly dates me), we flew kites.  The level of technology had to do with the aerodynamic configuration of the kite (diamond, box, etc.), the length of the tail, and windspeed.  But the goal was the same: flight.

            Rounding the corner and crossing the street, I heard something whizz by.  This time it was a teenager on an electric skateboard.  I didn’t even know such a thing existed!  At least he was wearing a helmet and pads.

            Now, when I was a kid (there’s that phrase again…), we had skateboards also.  However, the level of technology was “the wheel”.  That, and the downward grade of our short driveway.  No helmet or pads, either.  But the goal was the same: forward motion.

            Fast forward a few hours to church worship team practice before service.  We have a young guy (whom I knew as a baby and kid growing up—dating myself once more) helping the team with a new technology called “click tracks”, a digital device that not only adds additional instruments as desired for the congregation, but also has a metronome to keep team members on time AND a nice lady’s voice directing us to each part of the song.  Of course, this requires me to wear an ear mic plugged into a free-standing monitor, and sometimes it actually works, and sometimes the ear thingy falls out, or the electronics go off. 

            Now, back in my day (similar to “when I was a kid”)…

            Okay, right, the technology is different, sometimes even an improvement, but the goal is the same: worship God.

            When it comes to knowing and serving Jesus, as in many other areas of life, it’s been said that the methods may change, just as long as the message remains the same. Two plus two is four, regardless of if one chooses apples or autumn leaves to get the point across.

“Behold, I will do something new,
Now it will spring forth;
Will you not be aware of it?

            Which makes me contemplate what might be the “something new” God is trying to do in my own life.  New patterns of thinking, new ways of relating to Him as protective Father (and nurturing Mother), as Older Brother, as well as Lord.  This can sometimes mean confronting the old ways, even painful memories, and (dare I face it) core issues in my heart and mind.  The Holy Spirit has a way of lovingly, albeit persistently, exposing areas I didn’t even know existed.

I will instruct you and teach you in the way which you should go;
I will counsel you with My eye upon you.

            It’s about time for me to take Buckley out on our morning jaunt.  Like him, I rather enjoy being an old dog; I just always want to be open to God’s new tricks.

Isaiah 43:19; Psalm 32:8  New American Standard Bible®, Copyright © 1960, 1971, 1977, 1995 by The Lockman Foundation. All rights reserved.

Author: dawnlizjones

Tends toward TMI, so here's the short list: guitar and banjo (both of which have been much neglected as of late), bicycling (ibid), dogs, very black tea, and contemplating and commenting on deep philosophical thoughts about which I have had no academic or professional training. Oh, also reading, writing, but I shy away from arithmetic.

One thought on “Old dog, new tricks”

Leave a comment