Leave it!

picmonkey dog

At this writing, a dear young friend of mine just received her D.A.D.—for the uninformed like me, that stands for Diabetic Alert Dog.  Jay (name changed for privacy and all that, not that she would care) has had several years of being a “brittle” diabetic, indicating that her blood sugars are fairly unpredictable, and she can have a medical crisis with little or no warning in her symptomology. 

That’s scary.   And really dangerous. 

So she has worked hard to be able to purchase her own specially trained D.A.D. to help her in these situations.  It’s been quite a L-O-N-G process, and this month she was able to bring home her personal furry friend and guardian who will be able to smell (that’s right—pretty cool, huh??) when her blood sugar is out of whack even before she can feel it.  It’s not just a convenience; it’s life-saving. 

However, the transition from trainer to Jay herself was a little rough for a few days.  Right after the trainer had left for good, Jay’s new companion whined and pouted, and even pulled away from her at times,.  This was not unexpected, and the command that Jay was given (and that the dog was trained to understand) was “LEAVE IT”.  When he started to pull on the leash to go find the trainer, she was to gently tug back on the leash and command “LEAVE IT.” 

Jay’s mom just sent me a photo on my phone of the first time the new little sidekick rolled over for Jay to scratch his belly—a huge step forward in the bonding process, as well as new possibilities for them both! 

Wish I could be a quick study like my friend’s dog.  How often do I want to cling to situations that are familiar, ideas that are comfortable, and emotions that fit me like an old easy-chair even though it may be threadbare with springs sticking out of it?  Relationships that have changed?  Offenses that make me feel righteously indignant?  Old habits and patterns that should not be allowed to remain (and we know it)?  Fears and worries, (like they do any good anyway)?

And all the time, God is saying “LEAVE IT”:

Behold, I am doing a new thing; now it springs forth, do you not perceive it?  I will make a way in the wilderness and rivers in the desert.”

To move on to fresh productivity, to invigorated purpose, it’s vital that I feel His tug on my leash, and leave my old for His new.  It may not be comfortable at first, and it probably will take time to adapt.

Guaranteed, it’ll be worth more than a good belly-scratch.

(If interested in the D.A.D. programs, there are several available. Jay’s dog was trained at Heads Up Hounds, which can be reached at :http://www.headsuphounds.com/)

 

Isaiah 43:19   English Standard Version (ESV)  The Holy Bible, English Standard Version Copyright © 2001 by Crossway Bibles, a publishing ministry of Good News Publishers.

Author: dawnlizjones

Tends toward TMI, so here's the short list: guitar and banjo (both of which have been much neglected as of late), bicycling (ibid), dogs, very black tea, and contemplating and commenting on deep philosophical thoughts about which I have had no academic or professional training. Oh, also reading, writing, but I shy away from arithmetic.

6 thoughts on “Leave it!”

  1. Great post.
    “How often do I want to cling to …emotions that fit me like an old easy-chair…”
    It sounds a little crazy (pun intended?) but I find that I sometimes feel like I want to cling to a depressive episode. It’s hard to reach from mental illness toward mental health. I question myself a lot during those times, and it’s definitely God’s strength that helps me Leave It!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If possible, I would be interested to know why or in what ways it is hard to reach from mental illness to mental health. I know for me, it was definitely hard work, with God’s help and grace. Only if you’re ever willing to share. Would make a very helpful and insightful post.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

