Inventory

wood 2A good friend of mine told me about the local Red Cross blood drive that was happening here in town.  I hadn’t donated blood in a L-O-N-G time, and since someone dear to me in my family had just had a transfusion, it was obviously still in my frontal lobe.  That, plus I was on summer vacation, plus I have one of the rarest blood types (B negative), so no excuses.  Drink some extra water, grab a protein bar, and I’m off.

There’s a family story about my mom back when we were kids.  She had the rarest type of blood, AB negative.  That’s always fun, since if you’re in a car wreck or some such awful thing, and you need a lifesaving transfusion, you might be in a world of hurt. 

Which clearly some people were, since, as the tale goes, the nearby hospital would call our house when her blood was needed and even come to get her and transport her to the facility back in those days. I guess their inventory would run low on such a precious stock of blood as that.  Kind of hard to get. 

We were not rich people, but you gave what you could to help others.  It’s just what you did:

 “All must give as they are able, according to the blessings given to them by the LORD your God.”

I like the “all”; God is so inclusive.  There are tons of Bible verses that talk about the impartiality of God’s nature and the expectation He has for the same in His children.  So when He says that all must give, I’m thinking He probably really does means everyone

Which indicates a head inventory of what blessings I have and a heart inventory of what level of gratitude I am currently at,…or want to be at.  Yes, I know that the difference between what the Pharisees had to give and the widow’s two copper coins had nothing to do with the actually amount, but let’s face it: how we give is also connected to what (and many times, how much) we give.  There’s not as much wiggle room as we may want to think.

blooddriveMoney? Time? Talent? We all are called to give something.

And of course, Jesus gave it all.

Deuteronomy 16:17 Holy Bible, New Living Translation, copyright © 1996, 2004, 2015 by Tyndale House Foundation. Used by permission of Tyndale House Publishers Inc., Carol Stream, Illinois 60188. All rights reserved.

Author: dawnlizjones

Tends toward TMI, so here's the short list: guitar and banjo (both of which have been much neglected as of late), bicycling (ibid), dogs, very black tea, and contemplating and commenting on deep philosophical thoughts about which I have had no academic or professional training. Oh, also reading, writing, but I shy away from arithmetic.

6 thoughts on “Inventory”

  1. I’m a blood donor, but they’ve turned me away the last few times due to high blood pressure. My medicine is still being adjusted. I don’t have much money to give in times of need, so I’m glad to offer a pint of blood when I can. (And your concluding sentence is magnificent.) J.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

