Tie your own shoes

Dawncartoon[1] (1)TO THIS DAY, I still have middle-schoolers walking around with their shoes untied!  Kids!  This is NOT a fashion statement, this is a HEALTH HAZARD!  You trip, then I have to take care of you!

Remember teaching your little ones to tie their shoes?  Some used the bunny ear technique.  In my house, we used the old-fashioned loop/knot design.  It all takes time and practice, but then, of course, my youngest ended up wearing flip-flops to high school in January, so why bother?

The point is that teaching self-sufficiency is a 
hallmark of parenting.  It may sometimes come across as a bit harsh, but it has to be.  Here’s an interesting story that I had to really think about:

“One day Jesus said to his disciples, ‘Let’s cross to the other side of the lake.’ So they got into a boat and started out.  As they sailed across, Jesus settled down for a nap. But soon a fierce storm came down on the lake. The boat was filling with water, and they were in real danger.”

Some have made the observation that Jesus had enough faith so He could rest through the storm, which speaks to the kind of faith we should have also.  Good point.  Personally, I think the Man was just so plumb worn out by all the pitiable humanity He had been dealing with that His physical body was completely exhausted.  (Besides, I know I’m married to someone who has slept through a fire alarm before…)

I can only imagine the scene: now, some of these guys were real fishermen, but some maybe not, so I wonder at the growing tension as the wind and weather begins to change after Jesus settles His head on a make-shift pillow. 

(Matthew) “Let’s wake Him up”

(Andrew) “No, we can handle this.”

(Jude) “Are you sure? Look at those clouds!”

(Peter) “Shut up and find the buckets.”

You get the drift.

Eventually, wisdom overtakes pride and the Master is consulted…

“The disciples went and woke him up, shouting, ‘Master, Master, we’re going to drown!’ When Jesus woke up, he rebuked the wind and the raging waves. Suddenly the storm stopped and all was calm. Then he asked them, ‘Where is your faith?’”

Honestly, this part kind of puzzles me.  Obviously, their faith was in Him, which is why they woke Him up, so why the rebuke?  It appears that Jesus is trying to get His “children to tie their own shoes”, so to speak.  As I read through the Gospels as a whole, I also see Him sending them out empowered to heal the sick, cast out demons, and all that.  I hear Him tell them to move mountains with their faith.  Of course, that faith is in Him, not faith in their faith—big distinction there, which is something that has gotten us W-A-Y off course in the past, admittedly.

Even so, a good parent isn’t going to allow their child trip over their shoe stings, so Jesus takes up the slack:

“The disciples were terrified and amazed. ‘Who is this man?’ they asked each other. ‘When he gives a command, even the wind and waves obey him!’”

But the outcome of this whole adventure (which is probably one of the main reasons Jesus had them get in the boat to begin with)—

“So they arrived in the region of the Gerasenes, across the lake from Galilee.”

The end of this calming of the waves story is the beginning of a new life story for the demoniac chained up in tombs and set free by Jesus, a breakthrough that Satan tried to prevent by a storm at sea.

I figure it this way:

  1. God will only lead me into situations that will cause me to exercise faith in Him in a greater way.
  2. Someone’s else’s breakthrough may be depending on my exercise of my faith.

shoe-laces-349254_1920And the Father has all different ways of teaching us how to tie our own shoes!

Luke 8:22-26 Holy Bible, New Living Translation, copyright © 1996, 2004, 2015 by Tyndale House Foundation. Used by permission of Tyndale House Publishers Inc., Carol Stream, Illinois 60188. All rights reserved.

Author: dawnlizjones

Tends toward TMI, so here's the short list: guitar and banjo (both of which have been much neglected as of late), bicycling (ibid), dogs, very black tea, and contemplating and commenting on deep philosophical thoughts about which I have had no academic or professional training. Oh, also reading, writing, but I shy away from arithmetic.

3 thoughts on “Tie your own shoes”

  1. Amen! Loved this.

    You made me laugh about the shoe laces. Teen agers, sheesh. I’ve taken to just explaining “paperwork.” If you trip and fall, I’m probably going to have to do some paperwork and that makes me crazy! Don’t make me do paperwork! I feel like I should fill out all insurance forms with the words, “I won’t get hurt” or “I know what I’m doing.” That explains everything, doesn’t it?

    I love how Jesus takes a nap. I also love how he tells them, “we will go to the other side.” That’s a promise, a statement of fact. You can put your faith in it no matter how stormy it looks. He’s aware of the waves, the wind, but he also knows, we’re going to the other side,we will arrive safely. It’s a done deal.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

