Eclipsed!

eclipseAs the picture shows, I’m not a fashion diva.  I tend not follow too many trends, especially if everyone else is following them.  I figure I’m either retro or trend-setting myself, depending which way one looks on the time-line, I suppose.  I basically have three fashionista rules: cleanliness, comfort, and coverage. 

But when it came to what style of sunglasses to wear to view the American Eclipse of 2017, there wasn’t much choice, at least here in my small town.  So I shelled out a full dollar for my NASA-approved specs in preparation for the light show.

In my part of the country, we were to get about a 96% solar coverage.  It was pretty neat, but enough light still filtered through so that I wasn’t spellbound—the pull of the paperwork on my desk was still there, so I was in and out of the school building for our few minutes of historical phenom.

Evidently, not so for those in the path of “totality”.  Total coverage was totally awesome!  My brother traveled to his daughter near Nashville, who’s front yard was in the path of totality.  One of my bloggish buddies, Anthony Baker, also living in the great state of Tennessee, writes poignantly about it HERE. 

And takes a MUCH better photo:

anthony

He puts it this way:

“What I was then viewing made me immediately realize that all the waiting was worth it. No picture in a book… no description… nothing anyone had said about it from a scientific standpoint… nothing could have prepared me for what I saw, for it was like nothing on this earth could ever capture or replicate.”

Which makes me consider the difference between his reaction to the complete coverage versus my reaction to the “close but no cigar” version.  Totality was stunning, jaw-dropping, worthy of personal inconvenience and study and data and recording.  Partial eclipse was mildly interesting,…then back to paperwork.

Which is exactly, exactly, what happens depending on how we treat Jesus:

“Instead, clothe yourself with the presence of the Lord Jesus Christ. And don’t let yourself think about ways to indulge your evil desires.”

Partial coverage doesn’t cut it; anything of my old self showing through will blemish the view of Heaven for someone else. 

Plus, if I’m not completely sold out to Jesus Christ, all in all the time, if I don’t choose the path of totality with Him, if I choose to not “keep looking up” as Pastor Anthony says, then I will most certainly just go back to business as usual in my old lifestyle and mindset choices.

Paperwork, or Totality?  Another quote from my friend that I’ll use to apply to Heaven:

“A once-in-a-life-time event that was [will be] totally worthy of the hype.”

(Psssst…check out Anthony whole post–great things!!)

Romans 13:14 Holy Bible, New Living Translation, copyright © 1996, 2004, 2015 by Tyndale House Foundation. Used by permission of Tyndale House Publishers Inc., Carol Stream, Illinois 60188. All rights reserved.

 

Author: dawnlizjones

Tends toward TMI, so here's the short list: guitar and banjo (both of which have been much neglected as of late), bicycling (ibid), dogs, very black tea, and contemplating and commenting on deep philosophical thoughts about which I have had no academic or professional training. Oh, also reading, writing, but I shy away from arithmetic.

5 thoughts on “Eclipsed!”

Leave a Reply

