Buckle in, God’s got a plan

neuschwanstein-castle-467116_1280I was always one of the tallest kids in class.  Back in high school I used to joke that the main reason I was on the girls’ basketball team was so that I could get off the traveling bus first just to intimidate the opposition.  Despite what they may have initially seen, in reality they didn’t have much to worry about.  My lack of athletic prowess may have been caused by hidden orthopedic challenges (no longer hidden, I might add!), latent asthma (ibid.), or simply a lack of interest and/or talent.  Like my 6’5” brother once observed, tall people rarely have to jump…for anything.

Nevertheless, what we see with our eyes can be scary, because we have a way of interpreting it through the lens of past experience, which is not necessarily a bad thing.  In fact, it’s a safety mechanism.  If there’s a motorcycle coming down the road, past experience says it behooves me to move.  Unless, of course, I’m an 18-wheeler with the right-of-way, then I expect the burden of wisdom to rest with the motorcycle.

With this in mind, I suppose I can have a little compassion on the returning Israelite spies after checking out the new land God has promised them.  Beautiful place, for sure, but definitely not going to be just given to them without some sweat equity on their part, including in the area of faith:

 “We even saw giants there,… Next to them we felt like grasshoppers, and that’s what they thought, too!”

The King James Version says, “and we were in our own sight as grasshoppers, and so we were in their sight.”

Giants are intimidating, including those of doubt, offense, fear, anger, and a whole host of other big emotional and spiritual bullies that the Enemy uses to kill, steal, and destroy God’s precious ones.  And Satan still uses his age-old tactics on us, just like on the Israelites.

So now maybe it’s my turn to stand nose to navel with the giant when he asks, “don’t you know who I am?”.  I’m tempted to cower and run for cover, when in fact the true response is—

“Don’t you know who I am?

keyIn other words, who’s sight really counts here? How do I see myself?  Or the real question is, how do I see my God? How I see myself reflects how I see Him, His work on the Cross and His power in the Resurrection.  There is no room for false humility here, nor is there time to waste, as there are way, way too many giants to be cleared away.  In fact, to think less of ourselves than what God Almighty does might even be more serious than that.  Check out what Caleb and Joshua said to the Hebrews who were contemplating turning back to Egypt rather than face their “giants”~~

“Do not rebel against the LORD, and don’t be afraid of the people of the land. They are only helpless prey to us! They have no protection, but the LORD is with us! Don’t be afraid of them!”

My very non-Jewish, 21st-century translation is this: To not embrace my identity in Christ and courageously enter the destiny He has planned for me is (are you ready)?

—an act of rebellion.

Ouch.

So, of course there may be a giant in my life, but he’s just on a motorcycle.  My God is driving the 18-wheeler; I’ll just buckle my seatbelt ‘cuz He’s doing something big.

Numbers 13: 33; Numbers 14: 9  Holy Bible, New Living Translation, copyright © 1996, 2004, 2015 by Tyndale House Foundation. Used by permission of Tyndale House Publishers Inc., Carol Stream, Illinois 60188. All rights reserved.

Author: dawnlizjones

Tends toward TMI, so here's the short list: guitar and banjo (both of which have been much neglected as of late), bicycling (ibid), dogs, very black tea, and contemplating and commenting on deep philosophical thoughts about which I have had no academic or professional training. Oh, also reading, writing, but I shy away from arithmetic.

9 thoughts on “Buckle in, God’s got a plan”

  1. This is ON TIME. When I read this section, tears streamed down my cheek: “How I see myself reflects how I see Him, His work on the Cross and His power in the Resurrection.  There is no room for false humility here, nor is there time to waste, as there are way, way too many giants to be cleared away.”

    This was a brief but powerful post reminding us all that God is not to be questioned but adored and followed. When He says “You can”, why do we always question whether He’s sure or talk ourselves out of it? Such a good word here! Thank you for sharing this!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OK, so I’m not a female-preacher-approving kind of guy, but this post will most certainly preach…seriously…I’m going to steal it for tomorrow night. You deserve an “amen” and a waving hanky (handkerchief).

    Seriously, I have had a VERY hard time keeping my chin up today. The giants I am facing right now are even tempting me to question my calling. When I scan the horizon all I see is giant after giant, and all I am is a grasshopper – at least that is how I see myself.

    But you hit the nail on the head when you reminded us it’s not about how we see ourselves; how do we see our God? That’s the part that made my eyes get misty. In my own strength, especially in a church as little as ours, and with little funds to fix up a place to live, and with time running down on both the move and the financial viability of the congregation, I can do nothing (and the stress has dug up some dark thoughts). But I’m looking at my little grasshopper self, not Almighty, Omnipotent God. He has clearly sent me into this land of giants, so He will keep me from getting squished.

    Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jeremiah in cistern, Paul and Silas in the stocks. UGH. You preach it hard, bro, ‘cuz all the good stuff comes from the Father of Lights anyway. Praying for you, and all my midwest Missouri howdies to Valerie and the congregation. (Ps, 32:8)

      Like

  3. This one absolutely made me think, “YES!” I needed this reminder and I loved the words, “Don’t you know who I am?” I love that we have the freedom (and the responsibility to remember it) to walk as our Father leads, trusting Him and claiming His authority over any and all of our “giants” Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

