Ain’t nuthin’ like the real thing, baby…

wood 2

I am not an artist, which perhaps makes me appreciate those who are, like my bloggish buddy at A Time To Share and her husband.  Our baby girl is an artist, as is one of our sons-in-law, and all three of my siblings and our dad.  Even Bob has taken up the pen and pencil! 

But me?  Nope.  I must have been like a flat rock that went skipping over that part of the gene pool.  I can sort of draw a tree…

tree
Tree. By dawnlizjones All rights reserved, no part of this artwork can be reproduced, blah, blah, blah…but why would you want to???

Of course, that doesn’t mean I can’t appreciate art…well, some of it.  Admittedly, I’m more a Rembrandt to Rockwell fan than, say, Pablo P.  I’m a bit of a realist in that sense.  I’m a nurse, and I like body parts to be where they are supposed to be.  Is that so wrong?

But then, I would also make a lousy existentialist; I’ve been ruined by day-to-day living and breathing and working to give too much heed to alternate universes, virtual or otherwise.  In my profession, what I do either causes my patient to get better…or not.  (Nursing, in practice, doesn’t leave much room for philosophizing, particularly in the ER when you’re gloved up and waiting for that ambulance to pull in with sirens wailing…)

So, the title of the book, Relativism: Feet Planted Firmly in Midair, has intrigued me for years.  I have finally purchased it, and at this writing, am prepared to put it out there with a hearty “READ THIS” stamp even though I’ve only just perused the intro. 

Which is actually one of the big things I so appreciate about the God of the Bible. 

“But the real things in heaven had to be purified with far better sacrifices than the blood of animals.

You mean there’s more to reality than what I can see/smell/touch/hear/taste or perhaps, even imagine?  Perhaps there is a higher authority than my own arrogant perceptions.  Maybe there is a system of government beyond—way, way beyond—the polling booth down the street, someplace where the quip “everything’s relative” just doesn’t fly.

So when Jesus makes the bold statement,…

“I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one can come to the Father except through me”,

…He draws a line in the sand that is clearly discernible.  And we are given the choice as to which side we want to be on.

Personally, I find it easier to walk with my feet on Solid Ground.

Hebrews 9:23; John 14:6  Holy Bible, New Living Translation, copyright © 1996, 2004, 2015 by Tyndale House Foundation. Used by permission of Tyndale House Publishers Inc., Carol Stream, Illinois 60188. All rights reserved.

Author: dawnlizjones

Tends toward TMI, so here's the short list: guitar and banjo (both of which have been much neglected as of late), bicycling (ibid), dogs, very black tea, and contemplating and commenting on deep philosophical thoughts about which I have had no academic or professional training. Oh, also reading, writing, but I shy away from arithmetic.

8 thoughts on “Ain’t nuthin’ like the real thing, baby…”

  1. As a paramedic, I support your enthusiasm for body parts being in their proper location. As for fine literature, I use the language of Shake-speared. “To bleed or not to bleed…that is the question.” Ok, ok…I admit it. That was horrible. Yet, it made me smile. 🙂 baaaa ha haaaaa

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The relationship of the size of the smallest known particle to the human body is the same as the relationship in size of the human body to the entire known universe. Many of the rules that we experience at our size–rules described by Euclid and Newton–do not apply to the very small or to the very large. As scientists discovered that fact about a hundred years ago, the sense of what is really real was wrenched in several directions. Knowing that the God who made us also made the very big and the very small and still holds it together is enormously reassuring. He never changes. J.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. “Personally, I find it easier to walk with my feet on Solid Ground.”<–Same here!
    I read that book about 10 years ago and I don't remember much of Koukl's and Beckwith's book….other than it was a neat title.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

