Modern-day Molech

IMG_20150103_172451138HOO-RAY!!!!  

dancing

I like to celebrate whenever I can.  I’ve even been known to create my own holidays! 

Today, I celebrate (in words, anyway) a shift in women’s fashion, particularly catching on with my middle school girls.  Now, the female species of the pre-ad homosapien is particularly vulnerable to whatever is coming down the pipe from the Big Apple or Hollywood. 

I find this unfortunate…

I have three fashionista rules: Cleanliness, Comfort, and Coverage. So thankfully, the trend tends to be moving to the longer tunics, and get this—“mom jeans” are making a comeback!  (Pick me up off the floor!)  Mom jeans were ridiculed as the high-waisted cut that my girls, when they were teens, caused them to think of their mother as so out of vogue.  HA!  I was merely trend-setting (albeit about 20 years in advance.)

In other words, coverage is making a comeback.

Brief history: Molech was one of the (many) disgusting idols that the Hebrew people, God’s very own children, lapsed into during Old Testament times.  This idol in particular involved a murderous worship practice of “passing the children through the fire” in human sacrifice.  It is beyond comprehension.

By comparison, I have a concern that, as parents, we not only allow but many times even PUSH our children into a mold that is not meant for them, either generally (fashion is only one example—not that I’m into burkas, but NO one should be wearing the stuff that is marketed to pre-ads to show that much skin) or personally.  By personally, I simply refer to parents’ activities to “help their kids compete in a worldly market” which, while perhaps not being immoral in itself, may not be what the child was uniquely designed for by his/her Creator.

In so doing, our parenting becomes a form of idolatry.

 “…They have exchanged the glory of God for the shame of idols.”

God has given our children (and us!) a glory that is both universal, being created in His image, and that is also individual, which consists our own talents, gifts, callings, and personalities.  One of the many challenges of parenting has to do with finding and nurturing those, as well as protecting them from our own designs for them.

Otherwise, they might get severely burned.

Hosea 4:7  Holy Bible, New Living Translation, copyright © 1996, 2004, 2015 by Tyndale House Foundation. Used by permission of Tyndale House Publishers Inc., Carol Stream, Illinois 60188. All rights reserved.

Author: dawnlizjones

Tends toward TMI, so here's the short list: guitar and banjo (both of which have been much neglected as of late), bicycling (ibid), dogs, very black tea, and contemplating and commenting on deep philosophical thoughts about which I have had no academic or professional training. Oh, also reading, writing, but I shy away from arithmetic.

4 thoughts on “Modern-day Molech”

  1. I found out about high waists being back in style from my granddaughter. She bought a jean skirt, but didn’t realize it was low-waisted. She asked me to make it tight on her waist, so I had to take it in quite a lot. I’m also happy about this new style.

    When I was 15, crop-tops were in style. I wore one to my church-school ballgame and they asked me to leave. Lol I had no idea it was wrong to show my middle. Teens are kind of clueless, and it never crossed my mind it might turn boys on. I didn’t know boys even got turned on that way! I just wanted to be in fashion.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

