One Size Fits All

wood 2I don’t fit. Or maybe it’s that things don’t fit me.  I’m a five-foot-twelve-inch (think about it) woman in a 5’6” woman’s world.  As I’ve mentioned before, I’m somewhat more comfortable talking with other woman sitting down together rather than standing in a group, since the latter arrangement has the conversation hovering several inches below my ears, and I find myself slumping a bit.

Shopping is a quite the challenge.  Once I walked into a retail store at the mall and asked if they had jeans with a 35” inseam, but the incredulous expression on the saleswoman’s face said it all.  Even the J.C.Penny’s “ultra-talls” don’t q-u-i-t-e work.  In fact, the recent trend of above-the-ankle trousers and the always popular rolled-up sleeve look is a totally fashion boon for someone like me. 

I tried my hand at basketball when in high school, but that wasn’t a good fit either.  I remember my coach saying, “Jump, Dawn!  JUMP!!”  To which my 6’5” older brother remarked, “That’s the problem. We don’t have to jump…for anything.” 

Evidently, I have passed this legacy on. When two of our daughters lived and worked in New York City, I was informed that, for fashionable folks, the big thing in the Big Apple was, in fact, height—women walked around all day wearing 3+ inch heels!  So, due to their genetic code, my gals had it made.  They could wear flats if they chose to, and some of their female compadres would still be looking up to them!

feet-1840937_1920

Of course, “not fitting” is nothing new to the Christian, either.  There are reasons why the world is supposed to NOT fit on us, that Jesus calls us to be “in the world, but not of the world” (John 17), reasons that go beyond even our own salvation and that reach into the eternity of others.  We are empowered to “cleanse yourselves of everything that defiles flesh and spirit, perfecting holiness…” (1 Corinthians 7:1), which usually doesn’t float too well at parties. 

We can expect to be marginalized, vilified, and ridiculed.  That is, until something of spiritual “top shelf” quality is needed.  Like when nurse friends of mine called to me down the hallway one evening shift, needing my help.  That’s generally not a good sign, but when I got there, a high curtain had fallen down…

When life comes falling down, Jesus is the One who knows what to do.

Or as our pastor once said, when it comes to Jesus, one size fits all. 

Author: dawnlizjones

Tends toward TMI, so here's the short list: guitar and banjo (both of which have been much neglected as of late), bicycling (ibid), dogs, very black tea, and contemplating and commenting on deep philosophical thoughts about which I have had no academic or professional training. Oh, also reading, writing, but I shy away from arithmetic.

7 thoughts on “One Size Fits All”

  1. Ha! I hear you! I’m not very tall, but I spent a great deal of time feeling like an odd duck because everyone I knew was like 5′ 1″ As a teen I felt so awkward. Finally God told me, “stop praying you’ll shrink and just get some taller friends.” Like, duh!

    In my family I am now the shortest, husband, kids, everybody shot up. I was trying to change a light bulb the other day,when my daughter comes along and just reaches up there. Aggravating.

    It’s a good thing to not fit in, to be set apart. Jesus really is the cure for what ails us. One size fits all indeed. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is so funny. I’m on the other end of the spectrum st only five feet. I like to tell people I used to be 5’12”, but over the years I shrank down and everything landed on my hips. Truth be told I’ve shrunk about 3″.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Dawn, I’ve been tall all my life, I’m now much older and the shortest in my family at 6’1″ (although I’m told that I’m shrinking :-() … My husband is 6’8″, my youngest daughter is 6’5″ and my oldest daughter is 6’3″ish…. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

