Blessing of blooming late!

garden last

Whee!! It’s cooling off!  Of course, I’m writing this in early October, so by the time it gets posted, we might be in the middle of a blizzard.  But for now, I walk out to my patio with my pot of steaming hot tea in the morning to find leaves on my table, and fewer and fewer mosquitoes. 

I love my Midwest autumn.

The flip side is that my gardens are getting less abundant (which, this year, is a relative term, unfortunately), and the flowers are getting ready to bed down for the winter.  But look what I found!!~~

flower

Now that’s a late-bloomer if ever there was one!   What untimely but welcomed color!  Elegance in the midst of common, new in the midst of worn out, wax in the midst of wane. 

Another example and reason to be thankful for God’s perfect timing in the beautiful creation we call children.  And I mean P-E-R-F-E-C-T timing. 

It’s unfortunate that we sometimes push our children into activities and expectations that just don’t fit their personalities or talents.  But it’s even more tragic if we don’t allow for them to grow into themselves at the rate that is hard-wired within their own souls.  It’s just so, so easy (in our sophisticated culture) to compare, evaluate, and set goals based on “others”, whomever the others may be.  Here are some examples:

The neighbors’ children.

The nieces and nephews.

The media’s “children”.

Or (ouch!) my own childhood.

Here’s a piece from Isaiah that we can probably apply here without too much of a stretch in context:

“…He has hidden me in the shadow of his hand.  I am like a sharp arrow in his quiver.”

Anything of quality takes time, and God has plenty of that in His creative pocket.  Of course, this also applies to me, as well.  I can be just as impatient with my own progress as with my children if I’m not careful.  In fact, there are parts of my own soul that are waiting to bloom that I probably don’t even know are there!

But God does.  Because he put them there, He knows their potential, and He knows when to bloom them out at just the right time, for just the right purpose. 

His purpose.

Isaiah 49:2  Holy Bible, New Living Translation, copyright © 1996, 2004, 2015 by Tyndale House Foundation. Used by permission of Tyndale House Publishers Inc., Carol Stream, Illinois 60188. All rights reserved.

Author: dawnlizjones

Tends toward TMI, so here's the short list: guitar and banjo (both of which have been much neglected as of late), bicycling (ibid), dogs, very black tea, and contemplating and commenting on deep philosophical thoughts about which I have had no academic or professional training. Oh, also reading, writing, but I shy away from arithmetic.

4 thoughts on “Blessing of blooming late!”

  1. It is interesting and fun to live the Christian life because you never know what God is going to show you about yourself. I am a slow-grower, I think. I am thankful God is patient.

    I don’t know why, but your post reminded me of something that happened on Mother’s Day at my daughter’s house. She has three girls, who were teens at the time, and two said, “Mom is the best mom ever. The best in the world.” The third girl said, “I don’t think so.” The other two got very upset, “Well, who’s better than Mom?” Their sister’s answer was two TV women who were moms on a sitcom. Lol Oh my how we laughed at that.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

