Seated in the Heavenlies

quillAnother beautiful poem from another Dawn (i.e., not me, the non-poet).  She prefaces with these words as an encouragement:

“I pray it sparks in you the courage (if you need it) to be raw and real in your spiritual journey, whatever you believe and whatever your heart towards God at this moment.”

Raw and real with God–that’s exactly what He is with us. Thanks to Enthusiastically Dawn for another gift.

Seated in the Heavenlies

I wondered this morning
wandered through my own fears,
through desert, storms and wilderness-
my own long forty years.

Questions swirled in my mind
directed solely to one,
as my feet dangled down
in early morning’s sun.

I’m sorry, Lord
that my failures are so grave;
I wish I was more like you,
steadfast and brave.

But these feet keep tripping me up,
there’s no denying truth.
If it’s OK to ask today,
I’ve some questions for you…

You say (in your word) that you’re always near,
never to leave me-
always here.

But I sense a distance
growing
in my soul,
between thee and me;
I long for your assurance,
a cure for this discrepancy.

Sitting here this morning,
I had the strangest thought
stirring within my spirit
a feeling which I fought.

I know I’m getting clearer
on the life you have for me,
as I sit beside you dangling
my feet from the heavenlies…
but still there is this nagging,
nudging in my heart-
give me just a moment, Lord,
I’m not sure where to start.

I’ve some fears within me,
refusing to subside-
though I’m fine
on the surface,
from you I just can’t hide…
Will you help me overcome?
In you alone only- I can confide.

I want to rid myself of
all that falls short of You,
but perfection is far from close,
Lord- what am I to do?

This gap – it widens daily
I need your strength to carry on.
I ask you not abandon me,
by your grace, I’m holding on.

Lord, I confess I’m fearful,
of what I know and
don’t know, too-
Though seated in the heavenlies,
some days I doubt it’s true.

Lord, you are strong, and I’m so weak,
can you show me what to do?

I’m afraid of being known,
Remaining unknown , as well-
or known and then rejected (like you)
and the reality of hell.

Lord, I want to feel all-powerful,
no offense I hope you’ll take-
the fact is, I know my place
of this make no mistake.

But, if I could swing a little higher
with you,
I could be brave-
and if you’d just increase my faith,
I know all you could save…

You came down from above,
in everlasting love-
The All-Knowing One
True Living God
to show all how you want things done.

The Unknown
became known-
stepped down into time
from heavenly throne.

Revealed himself
in His Only Son,
known and rejected
by the ones,
He chose and longed
to touch.

So, as I sit on this Seat,
remind me of your love complete
and as I swing higher still
seeing over green, rolling hills-
Adjust my gaze once again,
to the One on whom
I need depend.

Open my eyes that I can see
clearly your vision and victory.

You alone are Faithful, Lord,
And I am seated in the Hevenlies-
with thee.

Author: dawnlizjones

Tends toward TMI, so here's the short list: guitar and banjo (both of which have been much neglected as of late), bicycling (ibid), dogs, very black tea, and contemplating and commenting on deep philosophical thoughts about which I have had no academic or professional training. Oh, also reading, writing, but I shy away from arithmetic.

5 thoughts on “Seated in the Heavenlies”

Leave a Reply

