Challenged accepted!

wood 2If Truth in Palmyra thinks he can throw down the gauntlet and get away with it, then I’m in!  (And I hope, if you’re reading this, you are also!)

Here’s the meme he posted:

another-world

To which my comment included:

“How would I live now if I really embrace fully this concept? What would be different about my responses and concerns?”

Followed by his invitation of:

“That’s a good question…what’s the answer? You first.”

Here’s some beginning thoughts, but perhaps you might add a few more?  I have referenced a several blogs specifically, but anyone can play, as long as we all play nice. (Actually, all Christians could use some insight on this one, so comments are welcomed and solicited.)

My two cents:

  1. If I’m made (created/designed) for another world, that must mean that I have certain otherwise “alien” (non-resident) capacities that are not considered “normal” for this place.  (I should not be put off by modern-day usage of Acts 2 and 1 Corinthians 12-14, for example.)
  2. If I’m made (created/designed) for another world, I should not be taken aback when I am misunderstood, misrepresented, and/or mistreated.  
  3. If I’m made (created/designed) for another world, that may mean that I have certain pit-falls, spiritual “kryptonite” if you will, that must be avoided at all costs, but doesn’t seem to cause any discomfort to those who are of this world.

Okay I guess that three cents instead of two.  And perhaps I should stop, since I’m delving a bit deeper into the Superman analogy (that’s my husband’s blog…)  But when you think of it, that’s what we are called to be, in a sense, naturally not of our own superman-295328_1280power but by the supernatural power from an Other-Worldly Source.

Thoughts?  

Call-outs to all, including but not limited to:

Ancient Skies

A Time to Share

Beyond the Map

Cookie Crumbs to Live By

Elihu’s Corner

Full-time

Matthew Winters Ministries

Pneumythology

Patrick Hawthorne

AND LAST, BUT CERTAINLY NOT LEAST!!

Truth in Palmyra!

And blessings to all.  –dawnlizjones

 

Author: dawnlizjones

Tends toward TMI, so here's the short list: guitar and banjo (both of which have been much neglected as of late), bicycling (ibid), dogs, very black tea, and contemplating and commenting on deep philosophical thoughts about which I have had no academic or professional training. Oh, also reading, writing, but I shy away from arithmetic.

24 thoughts on “Challenged accepted!”

  1. Well, that is pretty darn excellent my friend and sister. My FOUR cents then! 3 of which started as yours.

    1. Eh. I think the whole world knows I am pretty much a cessasionist. I just like to hang out with the other camp a lot LOL. But, I agree, we should not be put off by manifestations of the working of the Holy Spirit. God has yet to stop being God, and can still do anything He desires to do, even if it bungles up our personal doctrine. From my camp, the quenching of the Holy Spirit is almost the national sport, we we really ought to stop it.

    2. Yep, yep. If we aren’t different enough from this world for this world to dislike us sometimes, then we are too much like them.

    3. People say, “What’s good for the goose is good for the gander.” Well, what is good for the world certainly is not always good for us. Some things should repel us, and we should be in opposition to them.

    4. This one is mine all mine! If we are not of THIS world, we are for another, right? Actually, in the end we are all for another world. Which world that will be is decided by us at some point in time, either by acceptance, outright rejection of the Gospel, or simple inaction. Don’t we want the world we are headed for to be as full of the people we encountered in THIS life as possible? Then, the way we live here should include tireless effort to show people the way to God, so that our world will be as full as it can be.

    There!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lol, I still don’t think you know what cessasionist means… Anyone who is concerned about quenching the Holy Spirit cannot be a cessasionist. One of these days, He’s gonna get such a hold of you that it will make national news…”Extra, extra…Wally Fry, overcome by a touch from the Holy Spirit, ran around the church today knocking over two deacons and a rather rotund lady.”

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Couple of Sundays ago choir director said we were singing Holy Highway ..a real fav mine. I did a little jig and she said

        You can’t do that

        I said

        Why not

        Because that’s dancing

        I said so what…David danced

        Her..but but…you moved your hips

        Me..like THIS you mean?

        I stay in trouble

        Liked by 2 people

        1. Great meme! Thanks for sharing it! These discussions are an important addition to the blog world, in my thinking. Christians need to be learn from each others ideas, different though they may be. I know I need it!

          Like

  2. We as children of the Almighty are called to live IN this world, but not OF it. Our purpose is to be the hands and feet and voice of Jesus, as we prepare to go forward towards spiritual maturity, taking others along with us as we can. It is not a lifestyle we chose, but a way of life…there is a difference! For the Christ follower, the one main goal we are focused on is Jesus, and the glory of heaven to come. If we miss that, our lives will have been ultimately unfulfilled, regardless of any earthly successes…

    Steve

    Liked by 2 people

      1. We choose to be pet owners, or follow a certain diet. These are lifestyle decisions we make, and can change them at will. What’s more, few people will even notice, or probably care!

        A way of life is a transformation of heart and soul. In the case of following the Lord, we are not just choosing to do so, our faith compels us to action…we are moved at the center of our being!

        And we wouldn’t change our decision in any way by any influence. After all, it’s the way we live our lives…

        Steve 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

  3. This was great!!!
    I get the cessationists comment-we (me especially) want to hang out with our fellow aliens….but we have our perfect model alien who taught us to go into the homes of the tax collectors and others of this world….in hopes of them being intrigued by our bright light, seeping out of our souls!
    Blog on….😇

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

