By Anonymous (he must be famous by now)

quillThis sweet poem about practical love comes with an even more precious story that can be found at Judy Journeys’ site, Another Perfect Daughter.  It appears to have been penned at least prior to the Great Depression of 1929.  A child’s poem, but more importantly, one with a great lesson for all!

Which Loved Best (by Anonymous)

“I love you, mother,” said little John;
Then left his work, and his cap went on;
Then to the garden, high in the swing,
Left her the water and wood to bring.

“I love you, mother,” said rosy Nell,
“I love you more than my tongue can tell;”
Then she went pouting full half the day,
Mother was glad when she’d gone to play.

“I love you, mother,” said little Fan,
“To-day I’ll help you as best I can;
How glad am I that school doesn’t keep,”
She rocked the baby till it fell asleep.

Then stepping softly, bringing the broom,
Swept up the floor and then cleansed the room;
Busy and happy all day was she,
Helpful and happy as a child could be.

“I love you, mother,” that night they said;
Three little children were gone to bed;
How are you thinking that mother guessed
Which of her children really loved her best.

As usual, here’s my disclaimer, but take the time to check out Another Perfect Daughter and the reflections/insights she has there!  Well worth your time.

Author: dawnlizjones

Tends toward TMI, so here's the short list: guitar and banjo (both of which have been much neglected as of late), bicycling (ibid), dogs, very black tea, and contemplating and commenting on deep philosophical thoughts about which I have had no academic or professional training. Oh, also reading, writing, but I shy away from arithmetic.

4 thoughts on “By Anonymous (he must be famous by now)”

Leave a Reply

