Allowable Defects

Ho! Thank you, Federal Food and Drug Admin.

Faith and Footsteps

image

Do you have any idea what’s in your food?  I mean what’s really in there?  Believe it or not, the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) actually has a portion of their handbook subtitled, “Food Defect Action Levels: Levels of Natural or Unavoidable Defects in Foods That Present No Health Hazards for Humans.”  Yes that’s right!  The FDA has a standard for allowable defects for the foods you eat every day. If you’re eating right now, I suggest you put the food away!

  • Canned mushrooms are allowed to contain up to 20 maggots of any size per 100 grams.
  • Apples are permitted to contain up to 11% of mold.
  • Peanut butter may have an average of one rodent hair per 100 grams.
  • Tomato sauce may include no more than 15 fruit fly eggs per 100 grams.

First, let me apologize for ruining your appetite. These are just a fragment of the…

View original post 267 more words

Author: dawnlizjones

Tends toward TMI, so here's the short list: guitar and banjo (both of which have been much neglected as of late), bicycling (ibid), dogs, very black tea, and contemplating and commenting on deep philosophical thoughts about which I have had no academic or professional training. Oh, also reading, writing, but I shy away from arithmetic.

16 thoughts on “Allowable Defects”

    1. That’s kind of what I was thinking also, thanks much for the input! Also, I have you on my blogroll. If you put the cursor over your site name, I have a little “taste” hopefully to pull people to your site. Please let me know if you would prefer I change it. Seriously.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

