Migraine morning

wood 2I’m writing this with a migraine.  I hate them.   But my mother had them, my brother used to have them, so I’m following in a fine, well-trod family tradition, not one I would recommend.

I first noticed it around 3:30 this morning, but chose to “wait and see” hoping it was only a simple headache that would go away if I fell back to sleep–mild case of denial, that.  People with true migraine syndrome will understand that the medication prescribed by the physician works more efficiently (translation: faster, more complete relief) when taken at the first symptom, i.e., immediately.  Stop what your doing, excuse yourself from the meeting, pull the car over, get out of bed, WHATEVER.  That means I also carry the medicine with me at all times.  It’s in my purse at on trips to Walmart.  It’s in my cycling bag.  

I hate this part of being such a frail human being, but thus far in my adult existence, there it is.  My denial has cost me some precious time now, but I will press through because as some wise adults in my life (Mom and Dad) taught me, “this too shall pass”.

I can’t help but consider how I do this in other areas of my life experiences; that is, rather than address a problem or potential difficulty at first notice, I choose instead to “wait and see”, not out of patient wisdom, but out of concern for my own selfish comfort zone.  I am not intrinsically confrontational, and yet there are times when confrontation is exactly what’s needed.  Granted, there are different and creatively appropriate styles of addressing a situation, and as mentioned, timing is a consideration; denial, on the other hand, is never “appropriate”.  

King Solomon had it right when he penned:

Trust in the Lord with all your heart;
    do not depend on your own understanding.
Seek his will in all you do,
    and he will show you which path to take.

Many of us memorized that one somewhere along our journey, but the next part really hit home:

Don’t be impressed with your own wisdom.
    Instead, fear the Lord and turn away from evil.
Then you will have healing for your body
    and strength for your bones.

I think the medication is kicking in.  It’s quiet and cool outside, the dawn just made its appearance and Buckley is lying contentedly on the patio.  I think I’ll just sit here for awhile.  Wish I had taken the pill earlier….

Generally speaking, it’s a good thing to do what the doc says, and how and when he says to do it.  It saves time and effort, and not a little pain.  

So why would I treat God Almighty with any less consideration?

Proverbs 3:5-8  Holy Bible, New Living Translation, copyright © 1996, 2004, 2015 by Tyndale House Foundation. Used by permission of Tyndale House Publishers Inc., Carol Stream, Illinois 60188. All rights reserved.

Author: dawnlizjones

Tends toward TMI, so here's the short list: guitar and banjo (both of which have been much neglected as of late), bicycling (ibid), dogs, very black tea, and contemplating and commenting on deep philosophical thoughts about which I have had no academic or professional training. Oh, also reading, writing, but I shy away from arithmetic.

10 thoughts on “Migraine morning”

  1. I would say, “Bless your heart,” but in the south that usually means that you arrived two floors short of a full elevator ride. Therefore, I will not, “bless your heart.” I will say, however, “Thank You Lord for healing my friend, Dawn. Thank You that the family circle of migraines is forever broken, in Jesus name…Amen!”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That is an ecellent question; why would we treat God with any less consideration? And yet we do. I always feel that it is in the times that I plow ahead without consulting the Father that my humanness is getting in the way. Yet, those are the same times that I wind up in more trouble.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh Dawn, sorry for the misery! Don’t get down on yourself too much…we all make mistakes in many ways. Now you have learned the lesson. When the symptoms begin to appear, reach for the pill! Don’t wait…God wants you to enjoy your day, and He knows you want the same thing! Hope you feel better and you have a great weekend!

    Yes, BTW, someone at WP actually addressed and fixed my comment problem! I’m able to make direct remarks once again…yay! 🙂

    Steve

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

