Fit Bit, for your soul

neuschwanstein-castle-467116_1280

Here’s another kudos and hats-off to Hollywood (yes, I actually do like some of their stuff).  I’m remembering the movie that came out many years ago called Mr. Holland’s Opus, and if you haven’t seen it, do.  Without spoilers, the storyline chronicles the young would-be professional musician who opts to teach high school band class while he works away on his dream job.

And, akin to most of us, life happens.

But surprisingly, something else transpires in the midst those life events.  Through his decisions to put first things first, purposefully setting his priorities on other than himself, his life and career are enriched in ways he never imagined. 

There.  I’ll leave it at that, since it’s enough to get where I want to go next—

There has been a push in our recent culture telling us to find where we “fit”, go after our dreams, all that.  Certainly, it is wise to research, not only different career paths, but to also research ourselves, our inborn wiring in the form of our natural capabilities, desires, the ways in which we are “bent”. 

What about our duties?  The career path we chose at 18 (and c’mon, really?) may not turn out to be what we had in mind when we are, say, 30.  Somehow, it doesn’t “fit”, or better yet, I don’t “fit” within it.  By then, however, what about those who are counting on us to provide? What about the concept of responsible adulthood?

There was a famine (again), and this time it was Abraham’s son, Isaac, and family facing the unpleasant prospects before them.  They could escape to supposedly greener pastures, but that’s not what God had in mind:

 “The LORD appeared to Isaac and said, ‘Do not go down to Egypt, but do as I tell you. Live here as a foreigner in this land, and I will be with you and bless you. I hereby confirm that I will give all these lands to you and your descendants, just as I solemnly promised Abraham, your father…. And through your descendants all the nations of the earth will be blessed.’”

You may feel like your soul is starving where you are, like you’re a foreigner and a mis-fit, and love for those who need you holds you there.  Sometimes obeying God means staying in a seemingly ill-fitting place.  But something wonderful can begin to happen.  Our obedience to His higher calling, that is, putting those He has given me before my personal aspirations, allows Him to a) change me more into His image and b) bless those around me.

And you’d be in good company.  After all, it was Love that held Jesus to the cross.

Genesis 26:2-4 Bible. New Living Translation copyright© 1996, 2004, 2007, 2013 by Tyndale House Foundation. Used by permission of Tyndale House Publishers Inc., Carol Stream, Illinois 60188. All rights reserved.

Author: dawnlizjones

Tends toward TMI, so here's the short list: guitar and banjo (both of which have been much neglected as of late), bicycling (ibid), dogs, very black tea, and contemplating and commenting on deep philosophical thoughts about which I have had no academic or professional training. Oh, also reading, writing, but I shy away from arithmetic.

8 thoughts on “Fit Bit, for your soul”

      1. I haven’t posted on it because I, too, have struggled with it. I like the ideals and I believe in them, yet life is not built on ideals. Compromise is required sometimes. However, I don’t believe in working at a job you’re miserable at, certainly not any longer than essential. Right now I’m in a job I enjoy, but it’s hardly fulfilling. Yet for various reasons my options are particularly limited. I’m 56, so getting back in the work force will be a challenge, let alone a “dream job,” and I have obligations. Plus, retirement looms. Well, I’ve written way too much here without being able to draw any conclusions. If I write a post on it I’ll be sure to let you know. I just may do that…

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

