Go take a hike! (No, really, I mean it…)

wood 2I’m writing this with a migraine.  I mean, a real clinically diagnosed one, not just a bad headache.  This is the kind the doc prescribes daily beta-blockers for, as well as “as needed” medication, not just the stuff you can get over-the-counter. I’m following in the steps of my brother, and my mom and her brother.  Fortunately, some folks with authentic migraines can figure out their “triggers”.  Unfortunately, I’m not one of them.  Simply put, a trigger is the causative factor, be it a food, a chemical odor, bright lights, things like that. 

Okay, yeah, then there’s stress.  I’m thinking stress is part of the curse; it came with Eve’s first taste of the ONE fruit in the ENTIRE garden God said was a no-no, from the Tree of the Knowledge of Good and Evil.  And “their eyes were opened”—they began to see things they were not created to see, deal with life on a whole different level, and not a very nice one at that.

Here’s where I’m going: we need to deal with the stress triggers in our lives, whether it causes migraines, or any of the host of other physically-manifested baddies that medical science is identifying.  And there are several ways to do this; chapters (and probably books) have been written on the subject, but one of the main things that keeps surfacing is (hold on to your seat–)

Exercise! dinosaur_cartoon_animal_animation_clipart

                                                      (Collective groan…)

Exercise releases those little chemical happy faces into the bloodstream known as endorphins which probably help in more ways than we even know about so far.  Aerobic and strengthening exercise has plenty of other benefits as well, especially as our bodies grow older (a-hem…)

But as a Christian, there is a much more important reason to take care of our physical bodies:

Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit who is within you, whom you have [received as a gift] from God, and that you are not your own property?  You were bought with a price [you were actually purchased with the precious blood of Jesus and made His own]. So then, honor and glorify God with your body.

This is crazy!  I am the walking, talking, breathing, working, and (soon to be) sweating tabernacle of God!  I carry and am to communicate the presence of the Creator of humanity—in me!  And as I read the Old and New Testaments, God was very particular about how His people built and used and maintained both the tabernacle and the temple, as evidenced by His carefully detailed instructions, as well as His overt displeasure when things were neglected or misused. 

No guilt trip, seriously, but a challenge.  My bloggish buddy, Marie Griffith, has thrown down the gauntlet!  On one her recent posts, she encourages us to do what we’ve said we’ve been waiting to do, to which I commented that I really do need to get back on my bike.  To which she replied that she wanted me to post her a photo.  To which I shot back, “okay, girl, you asked for it.”

So now I’m raising the flag, just to see if anyone salutes.  Here’s the experiment: this week I am challenging three additional bloggish buddies to START MOVING, take a photo as proof-positive, and post it to Marie’s site!  (hee, hee…)  Also, post it on your site (I dare you….) with challenge links to two or three other of your blogging friends (and to Marie’s original site).**

Here are my first picks (you lucky dog, you!):

Dan Ledwith!  Take a break from that dissertation and get the blood flowing to your brain! It will help your writing. (I bought Bob a bike when he was in grad school–one of the best things for him.)

Becky at InsanityBytes!   Yes, the world is insane.  But if I can do a 5K (at fifty, no joke), you can too!  Go girl!

Wally and Heather Fry!  Okay, so once it dries up a little down there, I’ll bet there’d be some beautiful hiking to be had.  

(Check out all these sites while you’re at it–great stuff!!)

buckley riding
Buckley adds about 60 extra pounds to the project.

Ah, my migraine is gone.  And my bicycle beckons.

(** to post your photo-bomb to her site, once it’s in your media file, go to “edit”, copy the URL, and post it in the blog’s comment section. When you hit “post comment”, it will show up as the picture, not the URL.  Clear as mud?)

1 Corinthians 6:19,20  Amplified Bible (AMP) Copyright © 2015 by The Lockman Foundation, La Habra, CA 90631. All rights reserved.

Dino gif from Clipartsmania.com

Author: dawnlizjones

Tends toward TMI, so here's the short list: guitar and banjo (both of which have been much neglected as of late), bicycling (ibid), dogs, very black tea, and contemplating and commenting on deep philosophical thoughts about which I have had no academic or professional training. Oh, also reading, writing, but I shy away from arithmetic.

11 thoughts on “Go take a hike! (No, really, I mean it…)”

  1. As a child growing up, my mother always responded to my comment, “I meant to…” With one of her own: “The road to hell is paved with good intentions. Ouch!! I need to stop saying I’m going to get moving, take a hike, if you will, and put some action behind those words. What better incentive than to know God has really specific plans for this temple of His that I inhabit? Thanks for the words of encouragement, Dawn.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ha Dawn, this is pretty cool. Will do my best. I’ll probably take a picture of me at work LOL. That’s pretty much my exercise. But, this was very timely. I am making some changes to improve my health, and this was very encouraging. Would you pray that I stay strong in those efforts? Meanwhile, I will try to get with the fun program here as soon as I can!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No pressure (well, maybe a little, in a loving sort of way). My office is a concrete box with no windows, and not much exercise happening. Brain-weary, but not physical. You are BLESSED if you get to work outside and get exercise at the same time…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You are very correct, it is a blessing. So many men at 53 are sort of beginning to fly apart, mostly due to inactivity. Not me LOL. It’s work like Hebrew slave all day for the most part. Although of late I don’t work nearly as much in the field as I used to.

        Like

  3. Okay, dawnliz, my participation with this post is to join the massive groan you heard as you mentioned the “e” word. So relieved that I wasn’t one of your blessed ones today! No pictures and no bikes but I’ll try to be nicer to my body. Good challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

