Spiritual spelunking

quill

I love the title of this one, “Regarding his Experience in the Cave”.  I’ve been in caves, not true spelunking, although I’ve seen pictures of those who do.  I had never thought myself afflicted with any form of claustrophobia until I took my three little girls adventuring through Wolf Cave in Indiana’s McCormick’s Creek State Park.  Even though I knew it was safe, the dark, tight turns were an experience I’ll never forget. Some of the cave experiences we go through in life are not quite so safe, at least it doesn’t seem that way at the time.  I like how the author here refers to this as “the” cave, not merely “a” cave.  We can all relate to that.  Some of us have gotten through, some of us are still inside where it’s dark.

Here’s one spiritual spelunker’s take on it all:

A psalm of David, regarding his experience in the cave. A prayer.

I cry out to the Lord;
I plead for the Lord’s mercy.

I pour out my complaints before him
and tell him all my troubles.

When I am overwhelmed,
you alone know the way I should turn.
Wherever I go,
my enemies have set traps for me.

I look for someone to come and help me,
but no one gives me a passing thought!
No one will help me;
no one cares a bit what happens to me.

Then I pray to you, O Lord.
I say, “You are my place of refuge.
You are all I really want in life.

Hear my cry,
for I am very low.
Rescue me from my persecutors,
for they are too strong for me.

Bring me out of prison
so I can thank you.
The godly will crowd around me,
for you are good to me.”
                                                                                       

luray-virginia-184172_1280And—just in case you’re one who is still hiding out in the cave,    Psalm 143 isn’t half bad either.  Same author, (and same Author…)

 

 

Psalm 142  Holy Bible. New Living Translation copyright© 1996, 2004, 2007, 2013 by Tyndale House Foundation. Used by permission of Tyndale House Publishers Inc., Carol Stream, Illinois 60188. All rights reserved.

Author: dawnlizjones

Tends toward TMI, so here's the short list: guitar and banjo (both of which have been much neglected as of late), bicycling (ibid), dogs, very black tea, and contemplating and commenting on deep philosophical thoughts about which I have had no academic or professional training. Oh, also reading, writing, but I shy away from arithmetic.

5 thoughts on “Spiritual spelunking”

  1. As one who recently realized she’s coming out of the cave (thankfully, I didn’t realize just how dark it was until I started coming out of it) I am so thankful that God is my safe place, my sanctuary….my refuge!! Thanks Dawn.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My caving is limited to an occasional trip to Ruby Falls (which is practically in my back yard). Other than that, the movie “Descent” ruined for me any future of spelunking. Should I ever have to run from people trying to kill me, I may reconsider. Fortunately, I had the foresight to never name any of my girls Absolom.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Whenever, we sincerely call to Him, he is our present help.

    Not sure that I remembered to let you know, so just in case I forgot, let me also use this opportunity to extend an invitation to a bloggers brunch party taking place on my blog on this weekend Sat-Sunday. The post is titled it’s a brunch party. I believe that it will be fun

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

