Oops

wood 2I’m not techno-savy, as I’ve mentioned before.   At the same time, I’m not as illiterate in all things computer as I was in the past.  The learning curve is still fairly steep, but I choose my own plateaus here and there along the way.  I have no false aspirations of becoming the “Tim McGee” of my generation.  I mean, after all, I procured this new Macbook thing instead of my old PC, but I did cheat by downloading Microsoft Office onto its little hard drive.

That was my first mistake….

Here may I back up in the story?  I’ve been praying that this whole blogging thing would not become an idol.  Let’s face it, when a few wonderfully generous people (like you) take the time to read and “like” what I write, those feel-good endorphins smother the gray matter and little chemical smiley faces pop up inside my head.  As a Christian, that can go one of two ways.  Either I can keep that solidly in God’s camp, trusting Him to do whatever He chooses with whatever blessings He gives me for the building of His kingdom, OR…

I can try to build my own,…kingdom that is.

I also believe God answers prayer, not always the way we hope or expect, but certainly in the best way.  (Uh oh, here it comes.)

So I had been writing and storing drafts on my new little Mac-soft hybrid.  The blending of the “office” with the “apple” seemed quite compatible, and I thought we had a good working relationship: I create and file (yes, I even had folders, I was being so atypically organized!), and it would store and retrieve.  Life was good.

Until last week, when I tried to open Word and the Mac would have none of it.  Several attempts to retrieve my work by two different Tim McGees, and still several months of drafts are seemingly erased, folders, everything.  Gone. 

Bang—answered prayer.

God will not share His glory with idols.  It’s a reminder to me that God is in control of any gift He gives me, and He will will prune it to it’s best use for others.   This concept is a big deal to me.  And if you’re a Christian blogger, I hope it’s a big deal to you also.  I know it is for Dad.

In the meantime, I’m thankful that I had earlier figured out how to schedule in advance (currently 4 months ahead) and will now start backing up files on an external drive.

Once I figure out how to do that.

(Guess that means no more resting on my current plateau.)

 “And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to his purpose for them.”

 

Romans 8:28  Holy Bible. New Living Translation copyright© 1996, 2004, 2007, 2013 by Tyndale House Foundation. Used by permission of Tyndale House Publishers Inc., Carol Stream, Illinois 60188. All rights reserved.

Author: dawnlizjones

Tends toward TMI, so here's the short list: guitar and banjo (both of which have been much neglected as of late), bicycling (ibid), dogs, very black tea, and contemplating and commenting on deep philosophical thoughts about which I have had no academic or professional training. Oh, also reading, writing, but I shy away from arithmetic.

7 thoughts on “Oops”

  1. That “feel good” sensation in response to reader likes or comments is a very difficult emotion to combat. I don’t blog, but do find myself eagerly checking to see who has liked or commented on my once a night Facebook post. I am frequently reminded by the Boss that I am not doing it for the accolades of others, but for myself and His glory. I’m still working on the whole “not letting it matter who or if any comments are made. I know that’s my “humanness” kicking in. I am working on that….

    Keep it up Dawn. Do it for God and your own growth. The blessing that your blogging brings to the rest of us is a happy plus.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I do like my usb thumb drive. I haven’t figured out office of any kind software so I use old school paper and pen or post right away or put in drafts. There are good things and bad to blogging. It is different for each of us. I am thankful for the community and the learning we can all do together, best wishes!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Dawn I can certainly relate – of course I want to know that my efforts are being read and appreciated but I’ve had to watch that checking my stats doesn’t become an obsession. About 2 -3 months ago it seemed like people were losing interest and traffic was practically nil. I had to trust God and commit the situation into his hands.
    I feel it for you regarding losing all that work. I pray the Holy Spirit will help you to recall and rewrite what’s been lost or give you great replacement ideas. 4months ahead? Wow! Talk about super organised!
    Have a blessed and super-productive week. 😃

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

