The Alley

quill

A new poet to my site (but it’s pretty obvious that she’s not a new poet!)  Life throws us all kinds of curve balls, as well as the ones we clobber ourselves with.  I like this offering from Spiritual Anxiety, as I think many of us can relate.  But more importantly, the over-arching theme I see is hope.

the alley

Slowly wandering through the alley

Of darkness and fears,

Silent footsteps

And the sound of rain ,

Gently caressing my cheeks,

reminding of the comfort

Of being here and now,-

Again

My blue lips inhale

The cold, poigant air,

Moving down my chest, clawing, as it flows.

But somwhat and how

It pulls me even deeper

Into this endless

despair

I’m walking through the allley

Of broken promises and fears,

Towards the golden light i’m heading,

Sheading tears and crossing fields

It’s a long road ahead of me,

Through thunders and through the storms

But at the end of this alley

There is hope and there are dreams.

Author: dawnlizjones

Tends toward TMI, so here's the short list: guitar and banjo (both of which have been much neglected as of late), bicycling (ibid), dogs, very black tea, and contemplating and commenting on deep philosophical thoughts about which I have had no academic or professional training. Oh, also reading, writing, but I shy away from arithmetic.

Leave a Reply

