Marching to the beat of a different Jdembe

IMG_20150103_172451138

One of my childhood memories is that day in grade school when “they” (whoever “they” were) brought various instruments into the classroom for us kiddos to try out.  I wanted to play the drum. Now, I don’t know if it was because this was the mid 60’s and girls didn’t play drums—similar to the thinking in high school where  girls took “home-ec” and boys had “shop”.  Or maybe I was just too scared to ask, but for whatever reason, I didn’t get the drum. 

In fact, by the time I was in 4th grade, I ended up on a violin.  Later on, my parents gave me lessons on the organ (bless their hearts, they really tried).  In early adolescence I finally got my hands on Dad’s old guitar, and with a few lessons from my two older brothers, and a few years of developing calluses, started banging away on it.

Like a drum.  

So here’s an encouraging thought:  God knows what gifts He hardwires into us, even if others around us don’t.  Of greater amazement, He is able to pull those gifts out of us, even if we, ourselves, are not aware that we have them!  And I’ll venture a step further—regardless of how long those talents and dreams have laid dormant, covered by failure, intimidation, or the shame of others, our Heavenly Father knows they are still alive, still waiting to be given new and timely opportunities.  And He cares about them, because He put them there.

That b-r-i-l-l-a-n-t series, Veggie Tales, expresses this idea in their profound theological exegesis (Dr. Seuss-style) called A Snoodle’s Tale.  It describes for children (of all ages) how we become weighed down by others’ incriminating insults and ignorance of who we were made to be.  When the young Snoodle unexpectedly meets his Creator, the “pictures” that others had drawn of the little guy were reviewed:

“ ‘First, if you please, let Me look at this art

            That makes your pack heavy and weighs down your heart’.

Then picture by picture, He unpacked the bag

            That bent the poor Snoodle and made his wing sag.

‘Dear boy’, said the Man, ‘these look nothing like you!’

            Then into the fire the pictures He threw.

He rose from His chair and said, ‘Wait there.  You’ll see

            That what you need most is a picture from Me.’ ” (1)

Okay, sure.  I cried. 

In that light, hear what the “Young Man” says to the “Young Woman” in the Song of Solomon:

“My dove is hiding behind the rocks, behind an outcrop on the cliff.  Let me see your face; let me hear your voice. For your voice is pleasant, and your face is lovely.” (2)

Now some forty years and three grown children down this journey, I can say I wish I had seen my own children’s gifts more clearly when they were growing up.  Ah, parenting. 

BTW—y’all are certainly invited to visit our church anytime.  I still play the guitar sometimes, if I’m needed.  But my favorite spot, and hopefully where you’ll find me in the heavenly band if I’m so chosen…

  …is in the Perc Pit. 

(1) Veggie Tales, A Snoodle’s Tale, 2004 Big Idea, Inc. (Click the title to purchase–not expensive, but very valuable.)

(2) Song of Solomon 2:14  Tyndale House Publishers Inc (2008-06-01). The One Year Bible NLT (One Year Bible: Nlt Book 2) (Kindle Locations 29051-29053). Tyndale House Publishers. Kindle Edition.

Author: dawnlizjones

Tends toward TMI, so here's the short list: guitar and banjo (both of which have been much neglected as of late), bicycling (ibid), dogs, very black tea, and contemplating and commenting on deep philosophical thoughts about which I have had no academic or professional training. Oh, also reading, writing, but I shy away from arithmetic.

3 thoughts on “Marching to the beat of a different Jdembe”

Leave a Reply

