Mitchell School

quill

Mitchell School was written by one of my bloggish friends, Oneta Hayes.  Oneta is 80+years young, a retired school teacher, and quite an inspiration. Here’s a little bio on this wonderful lady:

FIVE FACTS ABOUT ME. (That is, Oneta…)

  1.  I was born in a dugout in the southeastern plains of Colorado.
  2.  I graduated high school at the top of the class.   Hold the applause -there were only 24 in my class so my odds were pretty good!
  3. My present husband, Sammy, is my only husband.  We have been married 62 years.  (Great opportunities for divorce – 135 times.  Hold it, I’m joking – a little!)
  4. I always loved grammar but was scared and very insecure about composition  writing.  The first real writing began when I was about fifty years old.  I wrote an article called “My Case for Sunday School.”  It was printed in two church denomination magazines.  It was so foreign to my concept of my own ability, I believe it was inspired by God in order to move me to new ministry opportunities.
  5. I’m a member of Toastmasters, Int.  My love for writing and love for speaking go together very well.

I encourage you to visit her site: http://onetahayes.com/ for a refreshing look at life in general.  And, of course, my “disclaimer” is HERE.  ENJOY!

MITCHELL SCHOOL

We talked of community, not neighborhood;
We talked of counties, and towns
We met in schools and courthouse lawns
Wore overalls and dresses, not evening gowns.

The building housed the public school,
A place of learning and social gathering –
There was church, spelling bees, the voting booth
A center of knowledge – perhaps, just a smattering.

From eight years old to eleven or twelve
Mitchell School, was my place to go
It was not true that we walked in rain
By then, folks were modern, you know.

Owning their farms, livestock, and cars,
Their taxes kept that school house firm
Paid the teachers and bought the books
All gung-ho and ready for a new term.

Then the children grew up and moved
Adults bought new Chevys and Fords
The walls of Mitchell School began to fall
“Save the School” was a slogan – no action, just words.

To folks like me, ‘tis a pleasant memory, but
With no one left to maintain it with pride
A snippet was written to serve as a eulogy
And Mitchell School’s walls just fell down and died.

© Oneta Hayes, used with permission   Visit her at: http://onetahayes.com/

(PS, just in case anyone is keeping track, this post counts for my BLOGGING BLAST this week!!)

Author: dawnlizjones

Tends toward TMI, so here's the short list: guitar and banjo (both of which have been much neglected as of late), bicycling (ibid), dogs, very black tea, and contemplating and commenting on deep philosophical thoughts about which I have had no academic or professional training. Oh, also reading, writing, but I shy away from arithmetic.

2 thoughts on “Mitchell School”

Leave a Reply

