Pass me the pickles…again.

garden lastDid you know that too much water can kill you?  No, no, I’m not talking about a flood or anything like that.  I mean drinking too much water. Weird, right?  We’re always being told that we don’t drink enough of the stuff, but you can actually die from over-hydration.

While I’m on the subject, and I know I’m still a novice at this gardening thing, but NO ONE TOLD ME that two cucumber plants would be enough to start a small pickle factory!  Good grief!  They’re taking over out there!  Bob finally requested no more cukes in the green smoothies…

So, while dear Mrs. Rose, my former “advanced comp” teacher, might wonder about the preceding two paragraphs, they are, in fact, firmly fixed in relation to each other.  Water is essential to life and is very good for me, but hyponatremia is not.  Similarly, cucumbers are quite an impressive source of certain health benefits, but one can only make so many refrigerator dills.  Or, as the phrase has been coined:

“Too much of a good thing is still too much.”

I might even go so for as to add: too much of a good thing is an abomination of good thing.  Not merely excessive, but a perversion of it.  Using it in a way that it was not meant nor created to be used.  Due to my lack of preparatory knowledge, the cucumber monster was taking over possibly causing a decrease in the tomato plants’ production by depleting its needed resources.

Hmmm.  (Or, as kids might say, “Uh oh.  This is sounding suspiciously like another life lesson.”)

I love eating, (I mean, I r-e-a-l-l-y love eating), but my body can only assimilate so much pizza at a sitting.  Otherwise it becomes fat cells.  I love blogging, but how much time am I spending away from more important things?  (You mean, there are things more important than writing??)  But, alas!  Staring into a computer screen is not the same as staring into the eyes of my granddaughter, who is growing up faster than Microsoft can upgrade their software! 

The Apostle Paul ponders this on his papyrus when he wrote:

All things are lawful for me, but not all things are profitable. All things are lawful for me, but I will not be mastered by anything.”

I am allowed to have one Master only.  Without that orientation, all other things, including the necessities of life (even like food and water, and yes, blogging) are in peril of getting out of balance, advancing into other territory within my life where they don’t belong, wreaking havoc and depleting resources.  And they get tiring. 

Like too many cukes in the smoothies.

I Corinthians 6:12  New American Standard Bible (NASB) Copyright © 1960, 1962, 1963, 1968, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1975, 1977, 1995 by The Lockman Foundation

Author: dawnlizjones

Tends toward TMI, so here's the short list: guitar and banjo (both of which have been much neglected as of late), bicycling (ibid), dogs, very black tea, and contemplating and commenting on deep philosophical thoughts about which I have had no academic or professional training. Oh, also reading, writing, but I shy away from arithmetic.

8 thoughts on “Pass me the pickles…again.”

Leave a Reply

