Efficiency and beauty–mutually exclusive? (NOT…)

thx! pixabay
thx! pixabay

 

I really like birds.

Ornithology is a branch of zoology that concerns the study of birds. Etymologically, the word “ornithology” derives from the ancient Greek ὄρνις ornis (“bird”) and λόγος logos (“rationale” or “explanation”).

Thank you, Wikipedia, but not quite like that.

Then there’s the Audubon Society, “…named in honor of John James Audubon, a Franco-American ornithologist and naturalist who painted, cataloged, and described the birds of North America in his famous book Birds of America…” Wiki’s missed me again.

I just like birds. 

One day at lunch my husband and some of his colleagues, professors at a small college located in our town, were debating why birds sing in the morning. There were various offerings of opinion, until one astute academic simply observed, “Maybe they just like it.”

Gotta love Ph.D.s

To me, these avian descendants of the dinosaur (which is a crack up in itself) symbolize the epitome of efficiency and beauty combined into one.  This thought occurred to me as I watched a robin on my garage, those little toothpick legs holding up a fairly sizable body by comparison, when I realized that everything in the construction of that bird is made for flight.  Everything.  Its whole existence must fit under that main category.  And even a cursory reading of what the Wright brothers went through to get off the ground at Kitty Hawk gives one pause to wonder at the marvel of the little robin on my garage.

But despite all that, God also saw fit to give us this efficiency encased in beauty.  Not just one kind of beauty, but a multitude of beauties!  (This where Mr. Audubon comes in handy.)  Visually stunning (sometimes hilarious), with literal music to our ears.  Okay, so the goose guano gets a little inconvenient at the city park, but well worth it in my thinking for the stunning show of hundreds of Canada’s floating peacefully on the lake.

Efficiency and beauty—two of God’s infinite specialties.  Granted, sometimes what He seems to be allowing in my life doesn’t seem too efficient, much less beautiful   But then, neither is a baby bird when it first pecks its way out of the egg.  Sometimes I’m just so much better at “doing” than at “waiting’.  Maybe that’s why patience is a fruit that is produced by the Holy Spirit.

If I can trust that “He makes all things beautiful in His time” (1), it can make waiting on the Lord easier so that I can “mount up with wings as eagles.” (2)

Thanks for readin’!  –dawnlizjones

  • Ecclesiastes 3:11
  • Isaiah 40:31
Author: dawnlizjones

Tends toward TMI, so here's the short list: guitar and banjo (both of which have been much neglected as of late), bicycling (ibid), dogs, very black tea, and contemplating and commenting on deep philosophical thoughts about which I have had no academic or professional training. Oh, also reading, writing, but I shy away from arithmetic.

2 thoughts on “Efficiency and beauty–mutually exclusive? (NOT…)”

  1. God delights in beauty, and gave us the same pleasure. I am awed by creation, and I too love birds! Not a bird lady, but I love the variety. I like how you put it into words – “those little toothpick legs holding up a fairly size-able body by comparison” – all designed for flight.
    God doesn’t waste a thing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

